Undesirable Element



Cat Nº: GKL009



- +
- +
Audio samples

Arriving to the world for the first time, really–beyond the ears of the deep-digging few–Dale Jenkins’ Undesirable Elements, issued privately in the Washington, D.C. area circa 1985, is a homespun effort deserving of the audience and attention it never received upon initial release.

Undesirable Elements–here expanded as Undesirable Element with appended bonus tracks–is a desolate and deconstructed album which touches on the subtleties and extremes of the human condition, and the nuances in between, across gnarled bits of proto-punk via abrasive, fuzzed guitars, and refracted mutant strains of British post-punk through a distinctly American underbelly sensibility.

Drum-led and in-the-red, Undesirable Elements is a loose concept album of sorts, from the sympathetic pen of an innately skilled commentator. The album displays polemical disdain for the behavior of humans, insular views, and blindly moving forward on simple suggestion, while carrying a keen eye into the many textures of the mindscape of man. While you may hear occasional tears at aiming at the trends of the times, Jenkins’ direct, intensely personal and lyrically sophisticated material, combined with his charged attack, is in a realm all its own. Jenkins’ lyrics are nearly cinematic, like bite-sized scripts, or character vignettes, filled with wizened, introspective and radicalized perspective. The self-contained home-recording maverick was searching, sensitive, subversive, topical, yet several steps from the soapbox.

Got Kinda Lost Records is over the moon to allow this unique, outsider singer-songwriter/psych-punk album another turn at its time in the shine…

RIYL: Afflicted Man, Kenneth Higney, late ’70s Iggy Pop, J.T. IV, Peter Laughner, Lou Reed, Billy Synth, Sound Ceremony, Ariel Pink, Gary War, et al.

*First time reissue of this under-the-radar slice of dark, underground singer-songwriter/psych-punk.

*Carries an out-of-time sound referencing proto-punk and earlier post-punk.

LP includes three previously unreleased tracks.

Hard Cardboard sleeve + OBI.

Download card including the album plus previously unreleased bonus tracks culled from private cassettes.

Insert features informative liner notes by Jeremy Cargill (Got Kinda Lost Records / NTS Radio), culled from interviewing long-time friend and bandmate Alan Benson.


Blind Faith – Article Two {The Handgun Song} – Depression – Love And War (Alternate Version)* – War Was Raging On* – Non-Surgical Lobotomy – Breathe In Deep – Paranoid Song* – Destitute* – Another Day

* Bonus Tracks.