Ikarus (CD)



Ikarus released their eponymous album in 1971 on legendary ,exploiting-label ” + plus +” with label colleagues Wind ,,Seasons” and ,Tomorrows Gift. This short- lived label was established by Jochen Petersen as the progressive division of Miller Records. Jochen Petersen fronted the Hamburg Teutonic progressive rock fusion band Ikarus(so Alan Freeman in ,,Crack In The Cosmic Egg”). Ikarus played a very varied sound with complex arrangements and melancholic melodies inspired by early King Crimson (so Dag Erik Asbjornsen) and Van der Graaf Generator (Alan Freeman) or reminding to German colleages Thirsty Moon and Os Mundi. The original album contains only 4 tracks (from 6 to 15 minutes) but plays over 40 minutes a rather uniquely spacious and dynamic sound, full of surprises. Their lyrics scrutinized the behaviour of mankind with a particular focus on our darker minds. CD contains 15 minutes bonus track ,,Sunwave” by pre-Ikarus band Beatiques In Corporation from compilation ,,Pop and Blues Festival”, 1970. CD/ LP come with comprehensive band history by Ikarus bass player Wolfgang Kracht and a lot of unseen and rare photos from the band archive of drummer Bernd Schröder. Remastered from the master tape. A Krautrock Classic!