At The Gallop (CD)



Cat Nº: GKL008CD


VAT included

Add to Wishlist
- +

Initially self-released in 1975 by the Drumcondra, Dublin-based Cromwell, At The Gallop is a blistering, heavy, loud’n’lascivious ten track offering (thirteen in this expanded edition) of proto-metal infused street rock’n’roll from a time when Ireland was still under the sway of conservative showbands, quasi-religious, sentimental pop pap and traditional Irish music.

Despite their cultural struggles, Cromwell crafted a creative and compact catalog–five fuzzed’n’ferocious 45s and this footlong–led by co-vocalist/bassist Michael Kiely’s come hither coo and fey Jagger pose’n’preen, the in-the-pocket drumming of Derek Dawson and minor-guitar hero moves of Patrick Brady, exercising taste, talent and towering mountains of fuzz’n’fury as comfortably as greasy ’70s raunch and rural modes. At The Gallop is a rare–fetching upwards of 400EUR when the original LP does appear–little heard classic in the pub/ fried rock’n’roll /proto-punk terrain.

RIYL: Teenage Head/Flamingo-era Flamin’ Groovies, Mott The Hoople, ’70s Stones, pre-punk American street rock and the Bonehead Crunchers series.

* First time reissue, including bonus tracks from the group’s rare singles.

* Insert featuring rare photos and in-depth liner notes by Jeremy Cargill (Got Kinda Lost Records / Ugly Things Magazine).

“Emerging from the giant shadow cast by the greatness of Thin Lizzy, this obscure band with a venomous guitar attack, and dual vocalists that kick ass and take names, puts the ‘ire’ in Ireland and delivers with a sound that’s not for the squeamish”
– Rich Haupt (Rockadelic Records / The Acid Archives)


1. Ireland (The Wild One)
2. Down On The Town
3. First Day
4. You Got It Made
5. At The Gallop
6. Guinness Rock
7. Hoodwinked (Instrumental)
8. Nothing Left To See
9. Deal Me In
10. Dawson’s Fun Palace
11. Stomp Stomp Stomp*
12. You Hate It To Turn*
13. Guinness Rock (45 Version)*

*Bonus Tracks