The Many Faces of Black Sabbath (2LP – Gold/Black)



Cat Nº: VYN038




- +
- +

The album takes off with Tony Iommi, the founding guitarist, and the only member who has remained in all the band’s lineups.
Talking about Tony is a synonym for Black Sabbath; therefore, The Many Faces begins with him and his collaboration with Bobby Harrison.
For most people, the name of Bobby Harrison could have little meaning, but for students of the confines of the world of rock, Bobby was the first drummer of Procol Harum, whom he abandoned shortly after recording A Whiter Shade of Pale, the band’s iconic track.
Bobby retired because he wanted to start his own project: Freedom, a hard rock band who ended up having little success.
In 1975, Bobby recorded Funkiest, a solo album for which he recruited a range of top collaborators such as guitarist Micky Moody (Whitesnake), bass player Herbie Flowers (Lou Reed, T. Rex, among many others), drummer Ian Paice (Deep Purple) and keyboardist Matthew Fisher (Procol Harum) and Tony Iommi, who does an excellent guitar work on King Of the Night, the track included here.
In 1976, the British hard rock band Quartz, from Birmingham, embarked, as a support group, on a tour with their friends and fellow citizens Black Sabbath.
To honor the friendship and good times shared, Tony Iommi produced their eponymous debut album, released in 1977, from where we included the song: Mainline Riders. Guitarist/Keyboardist Geoff Nicholls from Quartz left the band in 1979 to precisely join Black Sabbath with whom he stayed until 2004. Then in 2011, Quartz re-formed with a line-up consisted of Geoff Nicholls, Mike Hopkins, Derek Arnold, Malcolm Cope and former vocalist David Garner releasing the album “Fear No Evil” in 2016. Nicholls died in early 2017 but in his final days, he wrote and recorded with Quartz the song “Highway to Madness’ that has been unreleased until now.